What Is Personal Independence Payment (PIP)?

Personal Independence Payment (PIP) is a benefit for people who have a long term illness and/or disability and need help participating in everyday life or find it difficult to get around.

PIP is made up of two components:

  •  Daily Living component (For help to self care and participate in everyday life.)
  • Mobility component (For help with moving around and going out.)

You can be paid either the Daily Living component or the Mobility component on its own, or both at the same time. Each component is paid at two different rates;‘Standard rate’ and ‘Enhanced rate.’ The assessment will determine which rate you are entitled to.

PIP is not means tested
PIP is tax-free, it does not take into account any income or savings you have.  You do not need to have paid national insurance contributions to be entitled to PIP.

What will happen to Disability Living Allowance (DLA)?

PIP replaces DLA for people aged 16 or over. People who already get DLA will normally be asked to claim PIP instead at some stage. However, if you have reached the age of 65 by 08 April 2013, you can keep and renew your DLA award and wont be asked to claim PIP instead.

 The Criteria

To qualify for PIP you must;

  • not be subject to immigration control
  • have been present in the UK for 2 out of the past 3 years
  • be between ages 16 – 64
  • have had difficulties with you care and/or mobility needs throughout the three months before your claim.

 The Assessment

The PIP assessment is made up of 2 parts;

  •  The claim form

You will be required to complete a claim form detailing your health condition and the difficulties you have. This is known as the PIP2 form and you will be given a deadline by which you must return the form.

  •  Face to face consultation

You may also be required to attend a face to face consultation with a healthcare professional, provided by ATOS. This is known as the ‘medical assessment’.

How it works…

The PIP assessment is a points-related assessment of your cognitive functions, physical and mental condition considered within a range of 12 different types of activities. Within each activity is a list of ’descriptors’ with different scores. The descriptors  explain the varying levels of difficulty you might have when carrying out the activity in question. You score points when you are not able to complete a described task safely, to an acceptable standard, repeatedly and in a reasonable time. You also score points for needing an aid or appliance to allow you to carry out the activity in question.

Activities and Points

The 12 different activities are grouped under 2 broad headings, relating to the Daily Living component and the Mobility component.

These are listed below besides the maximum points you are able to score for each activity.

(The minimum points you can score on each activity is 0)

Daily Living Activities;Max. Point
Preparing & cookinga simple meal.8
Eating and drinking.10
Managing medication &
Monitoring health condition.
Washing and Bathing.8
Managing toilet needs.8
Dressing and undressing.8
Communication verbally.12
Reading and understanding
signs, symbols and words.
Mixing with other people.8
Managing money.6
Mobility Activities;Max. Point
Planning and following
Moving around.12

How Much do you get?

Each component of PIP has two rates, a ‘standard rate’ and an ‘enhanced rate’. The rate you get will be determined by the points you score. (see below)

Daily Living component                  Points                             Per week

Standard rate                                          8                                 £55.10
Enhanced rate                                       12                                £82.30

Mobility component                         Points                          Per week

Standard rate                                       8                                 £21.80

Enhanced rate                                    12                                £57.45

 DWP definitions:

What does ‘safely, to an acceptable standard, repeatedly and in a reasonable time period’ mean?

‘Safely’ means in a fashion that is unlikely to cause harm to you or anyone else, either during or after the completion of the activity. For example, if you have epilepsy and don’t have enough warning of a fit to make yourself safe, you need someone with you when carrying out a particular activity to ensure your safety.  The DWP considers that  serious adverse event must be ‘likely to occur’ rather than ‘may occur’ for it to count. An example of someone not completing a task ‘to an acceptable standard’ would be where they  wash themselves inadequately and do not realise they are still not clean after they have finished. ‘Repeatedly’ means being able to repeat the activity as often as is reasonably required. Considering increasing symptoms such as pain and fatigue. The DWP should take in to account the fact that the effort of completing a activity can adversely affect your ability to repeat it or to undertake other activities You can do something in ‘a reasonable time period’ if you do not take more than twice as long as someone without a disability would normally take.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *